Русский

Excursion to the exhibition " School of Art Engineers. Far from Balance" with Franz Rodwalt

18 november 2021 / 19:00 / GUM-Red-Line Gallery, 1st Line, 2nd Floor
Event took place as a part of the exhibition:
"Engineers of Art" School: Far-Off Balance

Born in 1957 in Kazakhstan to a German-Polish family. In 1972, enrolled in the Kungur Stonecutting School where he studied molding, sketching, painting, sculpture, and traditional folk ornaments. In 1977, began teaching at the school. In 1979, moved to Leningrad. In 1980, enrolled in the Mukhina School with design as a major. In 1984, transferred to the monumental sculpture department. Graduated in 1988.

At the end of the 1980s, Franz Rodwalt became acquainted with leaders of the Leningrad underground. He begins creating bandage sculptures that are presented as part of performance art pieces and international artist performances. He organizes German artist exhibitions in Leningrad. In 1989, Rodwalt and Inal Savchenkov are invited to work in Italy. Later they establish the joint group Zero to the Four Winds in Budapest and organize an exhibition at the Tacheles Gallery in Berlin. In the summer of the same year, Inal Savchenkov and Franz Rodwalt decided to establish the international “School of Art Engineers” at their studio.

In 1995, Franz Rodwalt moves to Berlin. In 1999, he begins working actively as a sculptor and artist in the field of cinema. He creates sculptures, paintings, collages, videos, and animation. In 2006, Rodwalt creates together with Terry Gilliam the sculpture installation “Past People” at Potsdamer Platz in Berlin. Since 1999, Franz Rodwalt worked with many of the most famous film directors: Quentin Tarantino (Inglourious Basterds), the Wachowskis (V for Vendetta, Speed Racer, Cloud Atlas, The Matrix: Resurrections), Wes Anderson (The Grand Budapest Hotel), George Clooney (The Monuments Men), Roman Polanski (The Ghost Writer), Chad Stahelski (John Wick: Chapter 3 – Parabellum), Duncan Jones (Mute), Paul W. S. Anderson (The Three Musketeers), Fede Álvarez (The Girl in the Spider's Web), Karyn Kusama (Æon Flux), Gore Verbinski (A Cure for Wellness), Christian Alvart (Pandorum), Tommy Wirkola (Hansel & Gretel: Witch Hunters), and many other luminaries.

Rodwalt created sculptures for the production of “Peer Gynt” at the Staatstheater Hannover, pieces for the Bremen Airport, as well as the Street Art Museum and Freies Museum in Berlin.

English

Экскурсии по выставке «Школа инженеров искусства. Вдали от равновесия» с Францом Родвальтом

18 ноября 2021 / 19:00 / Галерея ГУМ-Red-Line, 1-я линия, 3-й этаж
Мероприятие проводится в рамках выставки:
Школа «Инженеров искусства». Вдали от равновесия

Франц Родвальт родился в 1957 году в Казахстане в немецко-польской семье. В 1972 году поступил в Кунгурское камнерезное училище, где изучал лепку, рисунок, живопись, скульптуру и народный орнамент, а в 1977 году был приглашен туда в качестве преподавателя. В 1979 году переехал в Ленинград, где в 1980-м поступил в Мухинское училище на дизайнера, а в 1984 году перевелся на отделение монументальной скульптуры, которое закончил в 1988-м. ⠀

С конца 80-х годов Франц Родвальт знакомится с представителями ленинградского андеграунда, начинает создавать скульптуры из бинтов, участвующие в перформансах и выступлениях иностранных артистов, организует выставки немецких художников в Ленинграде. В 1989 году вместе с Иналом Савченковым по приглашению едет работать в Италию, а позже, через Будапешт, где они создают совместную группу «От нуля на четыре стороны», в Берлин, где делают выставку в галерее Tacheles. Тем же летом в мастерской Инал Савченков и Франц Родвальт решают основать интернациональную школу «Инженеры искусства».

В 1995 году Франц переезжает в Берлин, где с 1999 года начинает активно работать в качестве скульптора и художника в кино. Он сотрудничает с такими известнейшими режиссерами, как Квентин Тарантино («Бесславные ублюдки»), сестры (ранее известные как братья) Вачовски («V — значит вендетта», «Спиди-гонщик», «Облачный Атлас», «Матрица 4»), Уэс Андерсон («Отель “Гранд Будапешт”»), Джордж Клуни («Охотники за сокровищами»), Роман Полански («Призрак»), Чад Стахелски («Джон Уик 3»), Данкан Джонс («Немой»), Пол У. С. Андерсон («Мушкетеры»), Феде Альварес («Девушка, которая застряла в паутине»), Карин Кусама («Эон Флакс»), Гор Вербински («Лекарство от здоровья»), Кристиан Альварт («Пандорум»), Томми Виркола («Охотники на ведьм») и многими другими. ⠀

Создавал скульптуры для постановки «Пер Гюнта» в Ганноверской опере, произведения для Бременского аэропорта, музея стрит-арта и Freies Museum в Берлине.