Русский

Nikolay Filatov.
Polovtsian Dances

10 september — 25 october 2020

GUM-Red-Line Gallery is hosting the solo exhibition of Nikolay Filatov in September–October 2020. The artist creates monumental painting in the neoexpressionist style. His works are distinguished by expressivity and constructivism elements – symbols of the monumental archetype of avant-garde ideas in Russian culture. Russian cosmism, futurism, communism are presented as a single holistic image where the whole is valued more than the sum of its parts.

By thus titling the exhibition, the artist allows us to engage with a whole range of aesthetic and historical allusions that offer solutions for understanding both his newer works and his style in general.

Nikolay Filatov notes that his art is as wild, ancient, and fierce as Polovtsian Dances. We affirm: Nikolay Filatov is a Russian master, an artist speaking in the language of avant-garde. (the role of classics)

Nikolay Filatov notes that he always wanted to be “white and fluffy” as an artist, and yet he was always unable to do so. What he can do is to be as grandiose, noisy, and frightening as Polovtsian Dances. We affirm: Nikolay Filatov as an artist is a person who can personify the great spirit of many people, epochs, and territories associated with Eurasian culture. This is amply proven by the beating pulse of his paintings. (the role of the avant-garde)

Nikolay Filatov notes that the energy for his paintings comes from childhood fears of the limitless, aesthetically strange reality into which a new little human has to incorporate himself. We affirm: rarely can we experience a master whose abstract language is as thoroughly felt and motivated as the artistic choices of the first wave of Russian avant-garde. (the role of Russia)

Nikolay Filatov notes that being an artist requires one to hold great responsibility. One has to be sincere in the face of one’s talent and sufficiently courageous to use one’s artistic language to express everything that an artist, as a member of society who is able to do and see more than the people around him, must express. We affirm: the art and objects by Nikolay Filatov are the benchmarks of freedom, naturalness, and happiness for Russian and international art. (the role of people)

Basic elements of avant-garde and a contemporary artistic language are the defining features of Nikolay Filatov’s art. His pieces are effectively large-scale in the Michelangelo mold, forcefully and stridently entering humanity’s existence and evidently ill-suited to the limitations of what is considered the norm.

The bright and distinct selection of paintings by Nikolay Filatov plays around with numerous colors and naturally combines profound culture and a lively expressive temperament. Tonal intensity is very much dependent on the creative period from which the works hail. Pieces range from contrasting combinations of oversaturated basic colors to more reserved and complex ruminations on the hues of the European rainbow. In his current creative period, Nikolay Filatov has enhanced the color palette by engaging in a dialogue between the subtle pastel backgrounds and the more assured colors of objects and subjects from the main composition. His color range is genuinely one of the richest among all contemporary artists. Dancing figures appear in all periods of Nikolay Filatov’s creative work: they can be cubic and futuristic, expressively break apart into emotional brushstrokes, or, as is evident from contemporary pieces, paradoxically reveal depictions of human bodies presented in the style of antiquity while still reminding us of the subdued avant-garde dimensionality of the familiar Nikolay Filatov aesthetic.


3D tour


Exhibition participant:

Nikolay Filatov

Past events

Exhibition works
Equilibrium, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Equilibrium, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 200х145 cm€ 28 000
2 520 000 rub.
Terminator, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Terminator, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 200х145 cm€ 24 000
2 160 000 rub.
Ladydigi, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Ladydigi, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 200х145 cm€ 22 000
1 980 000 rub.
Outlander, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Outlander, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 200х145 cm€ 22 000
1 980 000 rub.
Madonna, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Madonna, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 200х145 cm€ 28 000
2 520 000 rub.
Ball(et), 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Ball(et), 2020.
Oil on canvas. 200х145 cm€ 24 000
2 160 000 rub.
Sower, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Sower, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 200х150 cm€ 24 000
2 160 000 rub.
Dawn, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Dawn, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 200х150 cm€ 22 000
1 980 000 rub.
Paranja, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Paranja, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 200х150 cm€ 28 000
2 520 000 rub.
Minotaur (soldier), 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Minotaur (soldier), 2020.
Oil on canvas. 220х140 cm€ 23 000
2 070 000 rub.
Pipes (New world), 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Pipes (New world), 2020.
Oil on canvas. 200х150 cm€ 22 000
1 980 000 rub.
Flight, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Flight, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 200х150 cm€ 32 000
2 880 000 rub.
Hi Faust, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Hi Faust, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 160х140 cm€ 20 000
1 800 000 rub.
Leap, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Leap, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 200х150 cm€ 24 000
2 160 000 rub.
Venus without fur, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Venus without fur, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 200х150 cm€ 23 000
2 070 000 rub.
Faun at rest, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Faun at rest, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 190х140 cm€ 28 000
2 520 000 rub.
Ergo sum, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Ergo sum, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 150х100 cm€ 12 000
1 080 000 rub.
Buskins, 2020.Nikolay Filatov

Buskins, 2020.
Oil on canvas. 150х100 cm€ 12 000
1 080 000 rub.
Nude in Moscow, 2018Nikolay Filatov

Nude in Moscow, 2018
Mixed technique. 150х100 cm€ 10 000
900 000 rub.
Untitled, 2018Nikolay Filatov

Untitled, 2018
Mixed technique. 150х100 cm€ 10 000
900 000 rub.
Untitled, 2019.Nikolay Filatov

Untitled, 2019.
Oil on canvas. 200х150 cm€ 22 000
1 980 000 rub.
Exhibition photos

English

Николай Филатов.
Половецкие пляски

В сентябре–октябре 2020 года в галерее ГУМ-Red-Line состоится персональная выставка Николая Филатова. Художник создает монументальные живописные работы в духе неоэкспрессионизма. Его произведения, где синтезируются экспрессивная подача и элементы конструктивистской формы, – как символы монументального собирательного образа всей истории авангардных идей русского культурного поля. Русский космизм, футуризм, коммунизм представлены единой холистической картиной, где образ целого превосходит отдельные части.

При помощи названия выставки – «Половецкие пляски» – художник дает нам целую связку ключей эстетических и исторических к прочтению не только своих новых произведений, но и всего его стиля в целом.

Николай Филатов говорит, что его живопись – дикая, древняя, яростная, как половецкие пляски. Мы говорим: Николай Филатов – мэтр русской живописи, художник, говорящий языком авангарда. (роль классики)

Николай Филатов говорит про себя как художника, что он хотел бы быть беленьким и пушистеньким, но это не получается, а получается быть большим, шумным и страшным, как половецкие пляски. Мы говорим: Николай Филатов как деятель искусств является человеком, способным воплощать величину духа многих народов, эпох и территорий, ассоциированных с евразийской культурой в ритм биения сердца его картин. (роль авангарда)

Николай Филатов говорит, что энергия его картин происходит из детских страхов перед огромной, эстетически чуждой реальностью, в которую новому маленькому человеку предстоит встроиться в процессе жизни. Мы говорим, что редко в нашем искусстве появляется мастер, чей выбор языка абстракции был бы так же глубоко осознан и мотивирован, как выбор художников первого русского авангарда. (роль России)

Николай Филатов говорит, что быть художником – задача очень ответственная, потому что надо быть искренним перед своим даром и достаточно смелым, чтобы художественным языком сказать все то, что ты обязан сказать как член общества, который видит и может больше, чем другие. Мы говорим, что живопись и объекты Николая Филатова на сцене русского и мирового искусства дают образец максимального художественного воплощения таких позиций, как свобода, естественность и радость. (роль человека)

Отличительные черты живописи Николая Филатова – плоть от плоти базовых черт живописи авангарда и языка современного искусства. Большие размеры произведений, в которые с трудом и со скрипом, по-микеланджеловски втискивается человеческое бытие, явно превышающее границы установленных норм.

Яркая и насыщенная многими разнообразными цветами палитра полотен Николая Филатова естественным образом сочетает глубокую культуру и живой, экспрессивный темперамент художника. Насыщенность тонов значительно отличается в зависимости от периодов творчества, переходя от контрастных сочетаний перенасыщенных основных цветов к более сдержанным, но и более сложным оттенкам основной европейской радуги. В новейший период палитра Николая Филатова обогатилась диалогом между тонкими нюансами разнообразных пастельных тонов фона и более определенными цветами объектов и субъектов основной композиции. Фигуры танцующих, пройдя с Николаем Филатовым разные этапы его творчества: от кубофутуристических экспрессивных до практически разлетающихся на отдельные эмоциональные следы кисти, в современный период пришли к парадоксальному эффекту проступания форм человеческого тела в духе античной физиологии сквозь все более смягченную авангардистскую геометричность привычного нам стиля Николая Филатова.


3D тур по выставке


Художник выставки:

Николай Филатов

Мероприятия

Прошедшие мероприятия

Работы, представленные на выставке
Эквилибр, 2020.Николай Филатов

Эквилибр, 2020.
Холст, масло. 200х145 см€ 28 000
2 520 000 руб.
Терминатор, 2020.Николай Филатов

Терминатор, 2020.
Холст, масло. 200х145 см€ 24 000
2 160 000 руб.
Ледидиги, 2020.Николай Филатов

Ледидиги, 2020.
Холст, масло. 200х145 см€ 22 000
1 980 000 руб.
Пришелец, 2020.Николай Филатов

Пришелец, 2020.
Холст, масло. 200х145 см€ 22 000
1 980 000 руб.
Мадонна, 2020.Николай Филатов

Мадонна, 2020.
Холст, масло. 200х145 см€ 28 000
2 520 000 руб.
Бале(тъ), 2020.Николай Филатов

Бале(тъ), 2020.
Холст, масло. 200х145 см€ 24 000
2 160 000 руб.
Сеятель, 2020.Николай Филатов

Сеятель, 2020.
Холст, масло. 200х150 см€ 24 000
2 160 000 руб.
Рассвет, 2020.Николай Филатов

Рассвет, 2020.
Холст, масло. 200х150 см€ 22 000
1 980 000 руб.
В парандже, 2020.Николай Филатов

В парандже, 2020.
Холст, масло. 200х150 см€ 28 000
2 520 000 руб.
Минотавр (солдат), 2020.Николай Филатов

Минотавр (солдат), 2020.
Холст, масло. 220х140 см€ 23 000
2 070 000 руб.
Дудки (Новый мир), 2020.Николай Филатов

Дудки (Новый мир), 2020.
Холст, масло. 200х150 см€ 22 000
1 980 000 руб.
В полете, 2020.Николай Филатов

В полете, 2020.
Холст, масло. 200х150 см€ 32 000
2 880 000 руб.
Здравствуй, Фаустъ, 2020.Николай Филатов

Здравствуй, Фаустъ, 2020.
Холст, масло. 160х140 см€ 20 000
1 800 000 руб.
Прыжок, 2020.Николай Филатов

Прыжок, 2020.
Холст, масло. 200х150 см€ 24 000
2 160 000 руб.
Венера без меха, 2020.Николай Филатов

Венера без меха, 2020.
Холст, масло. 200х150 см€ 23 000
2 070 000 руб.
Отдых Фавна, 2020.Николай Филатов

Отдых Фавна, 2020.
Холст, масло. 190х140 см€ 28 000
2 520 000 руб.
Эргосумъ, 2020.Николай Филатов

Эргосумъ, 2020.
Холст, масло. 150х100 см€ 12 000
1 080 000 руб.
На котурнах, 2020.Николай Филатов

На котурнах, 2020.
Холст, масло. 150х100 см€ 12 000
1 080 000 руб.
Обнаженная в Москве, 2018Николай Филатов

Обнаженная в Москве, 2018
Смешанная техника. 150х100 см€ 10 000
900 000 руб.
Без названия, 2018Николай Филатов

Без названия, 2018
Смешанная техника. 150х100 см€ 10 000
900 000 руб.
Без названия, 2019.Николай Филатов

Без названия, 2019.
Холст, масло. 200х150 см€ 22 000
1 980 000 руб.
Фото выставки