Русский

Zhang Huan.
Love as Wisdom

09 february — 08 april 2021

The exhibition Zhang Huan. Love as Wisdom organized by GUM-Red-Line Gallery on Red Square together with Pearl Lam Galleries is set to open on February 9, 2021. The exhibition will be dedicated to the artworks by the famous contemporary Chinese artist Zhang Huan. The State Hermitage presented paintings from the Love series created in 2020 during the Zhang Huan: In the Ashes of History exhibition. The art pieces will be a part of the large-scale retrospective at the Venice Biennale.

Zhang Huan reflects on love that “moves the sun and the stars.” Paintings from the Love series do not address the viewer in the language of frivolous passion. Seeing them, one imagines solemn multi-part chants steadily growing in intensity within a cave of an ancient monastery. Almost abstract red circles against a white background are unusual among the oeuvres of Zhang Huan who has extensively studied classical Chinese realism. The forms, reminding one at various times of a globe, the sun, or a naked heart, are not fully overt; they remain subtly elusive.

The exhibition space where the two paintings — Love No. 2 and Love No. 7 — are presented is somewhat reminiscent of a monk’s cell — a place of prayer and meditation for the monastic painter. Zhang Huan sees art as the direct continuation of life, something explicitly connected with mundanity. That is why that monk’s cell is placed in the very heart of Moscow, the capital city of Russia, in a gallery overlooking the main square of Russia – Red Square. Within this space, filled with the sound of calming Tibetan music, there is a possibility to seclude oneself and completely immerse oneself in gazing at the two paintings in hopes of revealing the innumerable internal and external facets of love inside and from the outside. Buddhism views love primarily as compassion, empathy, the embodiment of the perfection of human nature, and, thus, the main condition for attaining immortality. If selfish love precludes us from enlightenment, then reverential, compassionate love allied with respect for the identity of another person allows us to gain rightful salvation.

Zhang Huan was not immediately drawn to painting. He began his career in the 1990s with performance art pieces in the course of which his body was placed into conditions unbearable for regular people, forcing him to battle phobias and grapple with the relations between the spirit, the body, and the outside world. His art was a tool for freeing himself from fears, close to the experience of true love. Zhang Huan left performance art for painting in the mid-2000s. This change coincided with the artist discovering Chinese religious traditions for himself. He began visiting sacred places, including the unique Buddhist cave complex in Dunhuang and started using temple incense ashes in his artworks. Now Zhang Huan visits Tibet every year, searching for unique spaces combining emptiness, serenity, and the richness of ancient Buddhist acoustics.

In his pieces, Zhang Huan regularly touches upon issues of religion, family, politics, poverty, and hunger. Zhang Huan aspires to rejuvenate the modernist techniques of abstraction and minimalism by framing them within Buddhism and Chinese culture.

The artist actively cooperates with the art world of the West: he produces opera performances at Le Theatre Royal de la Monnaie in Belgium, constructs large statues in the USA, and regularly participates in the Art Basel fair. During the autumn of 2020, the State Hermitage presented the artist’s first solo exhibition in Russia. The exhibition included, among other pieces, the artworks from the Love series. These art pieces will be presented together with other artworks by Zhang Huan at his exhibition at the 59th Venice Biennale in 2022.

The exhibition is organized by Pearl Lam Galleries together with GUM-Red-Line Gallery.

Pearl Lam Galleries is a driving force within Asia’s contemporary art scene. With over 20 years of experience organizing exhibitions of key contemporary Asian and Western artists, the gallery plays a vital role in stimulating international dialogue between East and West. Pearl Lam Galleries presents museum-quality exhibitions that re-evaluate and challenge perceptions of cultural practice in Asia. With a team of international staff, Pearl Lam Galleries’ reach is global, having presentations at major international art fairs, including The Armory Show, Art Cologne, Art Basel Hong Kong, Frieze Masters, and West Bund Art and Design. The Gallery’s flagship space is located in the historic Pedder Building in Hong Kong, whilst the Shanghai space lies in the heart of the Bund district. The gallery was established by Pearl Lam – one of the most influential women of Asia, according to Forbes, and one of the most respected figures in the field of contemporary art.

Project curators — Dmitry Ozerkov, Head of Contemporary Art Department of the State Hermitage, and Alyona Ivanova, Director of Pearl Lam Galleries Russia.
Curator assistant — Elizaveta Sadovaya.
Director of GUM-Red-Line Gallery – Igor Kazakov.

Exhibition participant:

Zhang Huan

Past events

Exhibition works

English

Чжан Хуань.
Любовь как мудрость

09 февраля — 08 апреля 2021

9 февраля 2021 года ГУМ-Red-Line на Красной площади совместно с Pearl Lam Galleries откроет выставку «Чжан Хуань. Любовь как мудрость», которая представит работы известного современного китайского художника Чжан Хуаня. Эти картины из серии «Любовь», созданной в 2020 году, были представлены на выставке «Чжан Хуань. В пепле истории» в Государственном Эрмитаже, а позже примут участие в масштабной ретроспективе художника на Венецианской биеннале.

Чжан Хуань размышляет о любви, которая «движет солнце и светила». Полотна из серии «Любовь» не заигрывают со зрителем на фривольном языке страсти. Они звучат как торжественное многоголосное песнопение, разрастающееся внутри древней монастырской пещеры. Красные, почти абстрактные окружности на белом фоне необычны для Чжан Хуаня, выучившегося классическому китайскому реализму. Формы, напоминающие то шар, то солнце, то обнаженное сердце, не проявляют себя полностью, оставаясь неуловимыми.

Выставочное пространство, в котором предстанет два холста — «Любовь №2» и «Любовь №7», — чем-то напоминает монашескую келью — место, где художник-монах молится и медитирует. И поскольку искусство для Чжан Хуаня — это прямое продолжение жизни, нечто непосредственно связанное с повседневностью, то и келья находится в самом сердце столицы, в галерее с видом на главную площадь России. В этом пространстве, наполненном звуками спокойной тибетской музыки, можно уединиться, погрузившись в созерцание двух полотен — чтобы открыть в себе и вокруг себя бесчисленные грани любви. В буддизме любовь — в первую очередь сострадание, сопереживание, а также воплощение совершенства человеческой природы, а значит, основное условие для достижения бессмертия. И если эгоистичная любовь препятствует просветлению, то любовь почтительная, сострадательная, уважающая личность в другом человеке ведет к достойному избавлению.

Чжан Хуань пришел к живописи не сразу. В 1990-х он начал карьеру с перформансов, в ходе которых помещал свое тело в невыносимые для обычного человека условия, боролся с фобиями и разбирался в отношениях между духом, телом и окружающим миром. Его искусство было средством освобождения от страхов, практическим переживанием любви. Переход от перформанса к изобразительному искусству в середине 2000-х совпал с открытием китайских религиозных традиций. Он стал посещать сакральные места, такие как уникальный буддийский пещерный комплекс в Дуньхуане, и начал работать с храмовым пеплом. Сегодня он ежегодно бывает в Тибете, где ищет уникальные пространства, соединяющие пустоту, тишину и богатство древней буддийской акустики.

В своих работах Чжан Хуань регулярно затрагивает вопросы религии, семьи, политики, культуры, бедности и голода. Он стремится дать новое звучание модернистским техникам абстракции и минимализма, заключая их в рамки буддизма и китайской культуры.

Художник активно работает с западным миром: ставит оперы в Королевском театре в Бельгии, строит большие скульптуры в США и регулярно участвует в ярмарке «Арт Базель». Осенью 2020 года в Государственном Эрмитаже состоялся его первый персональный проект в России, где были представлены в том числе картины из серии «Любовь», которые наряду с другими работами Чжан Хуаня будут показаны на его выставке на 59-й Венецианской биеннале в 2022 году.

Выставка подготовлена Pearl Lam Galleries совместно с галереей ГУМ-Red-Line.

Pearl Lam Galleries — движущая сила современного искусства Азии. Галерея имеет более чем двадцатилетний опыт в организации выставок ключевых художников современного азиатского и западного искусства и играет ключевую роль в развитии международного диалога между Востоком и Западом. Pearl Lam Galleries представляет выставки музейного уровня по всему миру и благодаря интернациональной команде имеет глобальный охват, участвуя в ключевых международных арт-ярмарках: The Armory Show, Art Cologne, Art Basel Hong Kong, Frieze Masters и West Bund Art and Design. Флагманское пространство галереи находится в Гонконге в историческом здании Pedder Building и в Шанхае, в самом центре исторического квартала Бунд. Галерея основана Перл Лэм — одной из самых влиятельных женщин Азии по версии Forbes, признанной одной из самых авторитетных фигур в современном искусстве.

Кураторы проекта — Дмитрий Озерков, заведующий отделом современного искусства Государственного Эрмитажа, и Алена Иванова, куратор, директор Pearl Lam Galleries в России.
Ассистент кураторов — Елизавета Садовая.
Руководитель галереи ГУМ-Red-Line – Игорь Казаков.


Художник выставки:

Чжан Хуань

Прошедшие мероприятия

Работы, представленные на выставке